Guitar Theory...

Play guitar? Don't know tabs? We can help you out right here.
mikey41
Hooch
First name: michael
Instrument 2: bass

Guitar Theory...

Post by mikey41 »

so ive been playing guitar for about 2 1/2 years and i seem to be stuck in a rut. i can play most songs based around power chords or open chords, but practically no lead (or stuff like tremolo picking, bends, etc.). I was just wandering if any guitar players on here know scales and chord families and shit like that and if they would greatly improve one's playing. Thanks!
Jake-41
Underclass Hero
First name: Jake!

Re: Guitar Theory...

Post by Jake-41 »

I know scale.. And that's it, haha.

I dunno what helps, i was forced to learn it. But if you'll take Brownsound for example, then it's hard to believe it does. He couldn't even read tab. So i dunno, do what's fun, and if it's not, then don;t do it. :D
Jeremy Kill

Post by Jeremy Kill »

I once had learned the pentatonic scale (is that the one?) but I kind of forgot it. Tried learning chords, but it got boring. In theory, I find guitar theory boring. I just got good by playing other people's songs and noticing patterns on the notes (which are probably the scales that I say I don't know).
Boni
Administrator
Administrator
First name: Christopher
Twitter: @boniboyblue

Post by Boni »

I have never picked up a "How To Learn Guitar" books or anything like that. I've always improvised when I started playing and I got from a stage where I was shite and could barely call what I play music then to a stage where I could create a 3 minute solo Jack Black style.

I think it also helped because I played Piano before guitar and had a good understanding of how to read sheet music and what symbols meant.
[donate][/donate]
mikey41
Hooch
First name: michael
Instrument 2: bass

Post by mikey41 »